Walks Talks & Workshops

The Garden’s unique living collection provides inspiration for a whole host of topics, please see below for information. Booking and more information will be available shortly.

(c) Toby Glanville

(c) Toby Glanville

January & February – Snowdrop Days

Sat 31 Jan Sensational SnowdropsJoe Sharman
10.30am – 12pm and 2-3.30pm
Free on entry Booking links coming soon
Sun 1 Feb Galanthus galoreJohn Grimshaw
2-3.30pm
Free on entry
Mon 2 Feb Surviving winterMichael Holland and Tom Wells
11am-12pm and 2-3pm
Free on entry
Tues 3 Feb A plant lover’s guide to snowdropsNaomi Slade
2-3pm
Free on entry
Wed 4 Feb Painting snowdrops and other winter gemsLucy Smith
9.30am – 4pm
£105
Thurs 5 Feb Best in snowNick Bailey
11am & 2pm
Free on entry
 Thurs 5 Feb Naming of the shrewJohn Wright
6-8pm
£15 (inc. a glass of wine)
Fri 6 Feb Garden pharmaceuticalsPeter Houghton
2-3pm
Free on entry
Sat 7 Feb Garden herbal remediesMaria Vlotides
9.30am – 4pm
£95
Sun 8 Feb Best in snowNick Bailey
11am & 2pm
Free on entry

March

Fri 27 March Plant remedies for springLara Bean
9.30am – 4pm
£95

April

Thurs 2 April Behind the scenes garden tour - Nick Bailey  
11.30am – 1pm
£25
 Thurs 9 April Introduction to beekeeping - Peter James  
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Thurs 16 April Prehistoric plants at the Physic Garden - Tom Wells
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Wed 22 April Better garden photographyPhilip Smith
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Thurs 30 April Willow weaving & soft fibre twining techniques - Tony Sutton
9.30am – 4pm
 £95

    May

Thurs 7 May Behind the scenes garden tour - Nick Bailey
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Wed 13 May Painting spring leaves & budsLucy Smith
9.30am – 4pm
 £105
Thurs 21 May Gardening under glassKate Wilkinson
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
 Fri 22 May Creative writing & gardens - Jackie Bennett
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
 Fri 29 May Compost clinic -  Michael Holland
10am – 1pm
 £30

June

Thurs 4 June  Behind the scenes garden tour Nick Bailey
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Thurs 4 June Introduction to beekeepingPeter James
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Wed 10 June Writing herb infused poetryMaria Vlotides & Chris McCabe
2 – 3.30pm
 £25
Thurs 18 June Propagation for beginnersNell Jones
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Wed 24 June Plant remedies for summer Lara Bean
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Thurs 25 June Better garden photographyPhillip Smith
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
 Fri 26 June Drawing trees and leavesMia Gubbay
9.30am – 4pm
 £95

July

 Wed 1 July  The lost art of nature printing - Pia Östlund
9.30am – 4pm
 £105
 Thurs 2 July Behind the scenes garden tour Nick Bailey
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
 Tues 7 July The history of maleria and its treatmentProf. Marco Corsi
6-8pm
 £15 (inc.  a glass of wine)
Tues 14 July Trees: their natural history - Peter Thomas
6-8pm
£15 (inc. a glass of wine)
Thurs 16 July Perfumes from plants with an expert perfumier
9.30am – 4pm
£95
Thurs 16 July Gardening under glassKate Wilkinson
11.30am – 1pm
£25
Tues 21 July Ancient trees Anna Lewington & Ed Parker
6-8pm
 £15 (inc. a glass of wine)
Wed 22 July Compost clinicMichael Holland
10am – 1pm
 £30
Tues 28 July The history of distillationDesmond Payne
6-8pm
 £15 (inc. a  glass of wine)
Wed 29 July  Bonsai and miniature gardens - Tom Wells
10am – 1pm
 £45

August

Thurs 6 Aug  Behind the scenes garden tourNick Bailey
11.30 – 1pm
 £25
Thurs 13 Aug  The evolution of flowers - Tom Wells
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Thurs 13 Aug Behind the scenes tour & Florilegium exhibition
6 – 8.30pm
 £35
Thurs 20 Aug  Propagation for beginnersNell Jones
11.30am-1pm
 £25

September

Thurs 3 Sept  Behind the scenes garden tourNick Bailey
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Thurs 3 Sept Better garden photographyPhillip Smith
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Tues 8 Sept  Beginners’ plant identification - Kate Wilkinson
10am – 1pm
 £30
Thurs 10 Sept  Painting flowers & fruits of late summerLucy Smith
9.30am – 4pm
 £105
Fri 11 Sept Plant remedies for winter illsLara Bean
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Wed 16 Sept Introduction to natural dyes Lara Hailey
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Thurs 17 Sept Propagation for beginnersNell Jones
11.30am – 1pm
 £25
Thurs 24 Sept  Introduction to beekeepingPeter James
9.30am – 4pm
 £95
Tues 29 Sept The lost art of nature printingPia Östlund
9.30am – 4pm
£105

October

Thurs 1 Oct Behind the scenes garden tourNick Bailey
11.30am – 1pm
£25
Thurs 8 Oct Cut flowers all year roundRachel Petheram
9.30am – 4pm
£95
Wed 14 Oct Become your own chocolate expertChantal Coady
9.30am – 4pm
£95
Thurs 15 Oct Gardening under glassKate Wilkinson
11.30am – 1pm
£25
Fri 16 Oct Leaf inspired jewellery - Liz Pearson
9.30am – 4pm
£105
Thurs 22 Oct  Compost clinicMichael Holland
10am – 1pm
 £30

 

 Pre-booking is essential for workshops and courses that are not free of charge.

Book Online NOW!

You can book by phone with a credit/debit card on 020 7349 6471, or by downloading, filling in and sending us the booking form (PDF/39Kb) along with your course fee.

Payment and cancellation
Please pay your course fee in full at least two weeks prior to the course taking place. For last minute availability we recommend that you call first to check whether space is still available. Cheques should be made payable to ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’ or you can pay by credit card by calling our booking line 020 7349 6471 or by downloading, filling in and sending us the booking form (PDF/39Kb) along with your course fee, via our Freepost address. Or book online here.

We are unable to offer refunds on bookings but we may be able to transfer your course fee to another person or to another date. Please call our office for further advice if required. In case of unforeseen circumstances, we reserve the right to cancel a course in which case you will be given a full refund or the option to transfer to another date.

Booking confirmation and course information
You will receive a course programme shortly after booking along with joining information and any course requirements. Your course confirmation for full day courses will entitle you to a 10% discount in our Shop on the day. Please note that this discount does not apply to the Illustrated talks or free events.

Please note
If for a reason beyond our control one of our tutors or gardeners is unable to lead a course at short notice, we reserve the right to work with an alternative tutor with appropriate experience.

Catering
Tea & coffee will be provided on full day courses. You are welcome to bring a packed lunch to have in the Garden or to book a table in our Café (N.B. the Café is currently only open on public open days of Tues to Fri). There are also plenty of shops and cafés locally should you wish to eat out. Your full day course confirmation will entitle you to a 10% discount in the Café and Shop on the day. Details of how to make a priority café reservation will be provided when you book.

Materials
Most course materials are included in your fee unless otherwise specified in the brochure or joining letter. Please bring your own notebook and pen to record notes. You will need to bring your own camera for the photography course. Please also wear appropriate clothing and footwear for any work or walks in the Garden.

Disabled access
Please contact us if you have specific access requirements and we will do our best to assist.

New Garden of Medicinal Plants takes shape – opened April 2014
Latest News